Skip to content

Psalm 71

June 25, 2011

I cracked open The Message this week for some better understanding of the scriptures and have been loving the modern day paraphrase. Especially Psalm 71.

{image found here}

You got me when I was an unformed youth,
God, and taught me everything I know.
Now I’m telling the world your wonders;
I’ll keep at it until I’m old and gray.
God, don’t walk off and leave me
until I get out the news
Of your strong right arm to this world,
news of your power to the world yet to come,
Your famous and righteous ways, O God.
God, you’ve done it all!
Who is quite like you?
You, who made me stare trouble in the face,
Turn me around;
Now let me look life in the face.
I’ve been to the bottom;
Bring me up, streaming with honors;
turn to me, be tender to me,
And I’ll take up the lute and thank you
to the tune of your faithfulness, God.
I’ll make music for you on a harp,
Holy One of Israel.
When I open up in song to you,
I let out lungsful of praise,
my rescued life a song.
All day long I’m chanting
about you and your righteous ways,
While those who tried to do me in
slink off looking ashamed.”

Psalm 71:17-24 [The Message]

What are you joyful about today?

-Michelle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Will Middlebrook permalink
    June 26, 2011 1:42 AM

    Hey Michelle! I just started a blog and was inspired by the amazingness of yours to move from Blogger to WordPress =). Hope you are doing well and thank you for the wedding invite!

  2. June 28, 2011 12:28 PM

    When I open up in song to you,
    I let out lungsful of praise,
    my rescued life a song.
    All day long I’m chanting
    about you and your righteous ways,
    While those who tried to do me in
    slink off looking ashamed.”

    I need to work on this!! I love the way the Message lays thing out.

    Thanks!
    Maddy =]

Leave a Reply

