Skip to content

on excellence

August 22, 2011

A few weeks ago I may have mentioned that we took my little brother Drew to college. The day before we left him we had the chance to spend all afternoon and evening with the university’s Athletic Director, one of my dad’s longtime friends. During our time with him, we toured the brand new football stadium and saw fields being cleared for a new lacrosse field (and much more!). The expansion of the school and the quality was incredible.

As our friend the AD gave us the tour, in Every room we entered he said “I just have to say; Thank you Lord!” He gave God the glory for everything, even the tiniest details of the facility.

At one point during our tour we talked about how the school’s athletic growth should hopefully place them in a better conference. We talked about how the program was cutting edge, but the “Christian University” title could be a set back in the process. In reference to that set back he said something along the lines of,”But hey, we’re Christians. We should be doing things bigger and better.” At first I was like “is it ok for him to say that?!” But I quickly realized he was referring to living lives of excellence. Doing things to the best of our ability for the purpose of making Jesus’ name know. Not doing things to be seen or get the glory ourselves, but doing big things so that we can tell everyone who notices about Christ, and His work.

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.” Colossians 3: 23-24

I’ve been thinking about that conversation a lot for the last few weeks, and how often I settle with “average” and still say “But I tried really hard”.

This fall is a new season of life, with marriage quickly approaching and student teaching in full swing (the kids come back today!). I don’t want to look back on this season and think that I wasted it on doing things half heartedly. No, I want to look back on this season and know that I lived with excellence and God was glorified and made famous in my weakness.

Yes, this is a bit more wordy than most posts. Thanks for baring with me.

-Michelle

One Comment leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    August 25, 2011 4:50 PM

    Amen sister!!! Thank you for the reminder/words of wisdom in this post!

    Much love,
    V

Leave a Reply

