Skip to content

put up a fight

October 18, 2011

This has by far been my hardest semester of school. maybe of life.

(PLEASE don’t hear me say it’s been bad, it’s been anything but bad! It’s just been hard.)

Last time I checked you’re supposed to “breeze through” your last semester of college. The only thing I’ve “breezed through” lately was graduation checkout this evening. (and that was only because I skipped all the lines to buy a cap and gown.)

I’m trying to balance wedding planning, student teaching, and having some sort of life. It’s a lot on one plate.

But here’s what I’m noticing; satan wants me to have a pitty party.

He wants me to feel stressed, busy, tired, and drained; and then say “oh woe is me, there aren’t enough hours in the day”. As if the Holy Spirit can’t provide the strength I need to carry on with excellence. He knows that if I start feeling bad for myself because I have “so much to do”, that I’ll be so focused on myself and I won’t be focused on Christ. He wants to steal the joy of this exciting season of life. (not happening.)

{image found here}

So here’s what I’m doing. I’m putting up a fight. I’m not giving into this selfish mindset. I’m beyond blessed right now with so many amazing things going on in my life and I’m going to praise the Lord for that, not sit and sulk cause I’m “so busy”.

God is good. I don’t have a thing to complain about.

The Lord knows exactly what I need and what I need to get done. He’s my source of life, so without Him I can’t do it anyway.

“The Lord will work out his plans for my life—
for your faithful love, O Lord, endures forever.” Psalm 138:8 (NLT)

-Michelle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    October 19, 2011 12:08 AM

    Umm, talk about words piercing the heart! I can totally relate to that “so-busy-that-I-almost-feel-overwhelmed” kinda feeling (whoever said that the last semester/year of college is easy was dead wrong!). Thank you for voicing this reality: “Satan wants me to have a pity party.” It’s something one feels, but doesn’t necessarily realize. I’ve been learning that God is always faithful (e.g. school- papers are always finished and projects always turned in); He’s “got my back” (how cool is that!?!!?). 😉 Praise the Lord!!!! (It’s so much more fun to praise then sulk anyway.)

    You go Sister in Christ!!!!

    XOXO,
    V

    P.S. So, SO glad that Satan isn’t stealing your joy!!!

  2. Gramma permalink
    October 21, 2011 6:39 PM

    Baby, YOU stay strong but know that all this is life, too.
    We love you and give you lots of support in the way of prayers.
    Hope you feel those……………
    and most of all know how much we love you.

    Can’t wait for our parties. 🙂
    XOXOXOXOXOX
    GB

Leave a Reply

