Skip to content

Our Wedding: Ceremony

March 7, 2012

I’m back! It’s been way too long since I posted and I apologize! Life has been busy and good, but the blog has not be forgotten 🙂

Without further ado, Our Wedding Ceremony…

From day one we wanted our wedding ceremony to reflect our love for each other and our love for Christ.

Another key theme in our wedding was our southern heritage. Many of our guests traveled from out of state to come to our special day and we wanted them to enjoy the south and what we love about it.


My Nina heels we’re inspired by this pair, pinned by Liz. The decals were made and applied by the lovely ladies at Lotties Loot.

I designed all of our paper goods, the programs and invitations were tied with divine twine.

Cole and I are blessed with a great family heritage, including very strong marriages. We wanted to celebrate our family on our wedding day, so we framed pictures of our parents and grandparents weddings and placed them in the foyer of our venue.

Cole’s wedding band is very special to both of us because it is his father’s original wedding band. When we had the ring resized, we had the same quote in my dad’s ring engraved into Cole’s; “Because of Christ”.

The music at our wedding was very special. Finding the musicians wasn’t a worry, but choosing the music was another story. After weeks of debating between songs we finally we came to a conclusion, and I whole heartedly believe the songs we chose fit the day perfectly. Every song that was sung, Cole and I loved.

And I think that’s the way it should be on your wedding day 🙂

Precessional… Tis So Sweet by Jadon Lavik

Bride’s Entrance… Love Never Fails (Instrumental) by  Brandon Heath

Lighting of the Unity Candle/Communion… Always Forever by Phil Wickham

Recessional… Here Comes the Sun by The Beatles

Our musicians were the husband of my MOH, Reggi Beasley and my good friend from high school, Mike Seay. Sound was done by our good friend Ty Maier.

Cole cried when I walked down the aisle. It was perfect.

Our ceremony was officiated by my father, who is a Small Groups Pastor. I wouldn’t have had it any other way.  He knows both Cole and I so well, his words made the ceremony so much more personal and sincere.

He also held it together through the entire ceremony which I was so proud of him for 🙂

We exchanged traditional vows in front of our guest and then handwritten ones during our time of communion and prayer.

When Cole and I left the wedding ceremony we ran into 17 wedding crashers who had watched our outdoor ceremony from afar. As we walked towards them one woman yelled out “You have 17 new Swedish friends who are very happy for you!” They were from Gothenburg, Sweden!! I cried. To this day, I still can’t belive God would send me some new friends from the city I love, on the best day of my life!

(You can read more about my love for Sweden here and on my old blog here & here)

We had to have our photos made together.

Venue: Pine Lakes Country Club

Flowers: Mary Bell onsite at Pine Lakes Country Club

Groom’s Suit: Express

Bridesmaids Dresses: BCBG Huxley Dress

Bridesmaids Necklaces: Their own

My Wedding Gown: Priscilla of Boston

Groom’s Wedding Band: Family Heirloom // Bride’s Wedding Band: Tiffany&Co.

Wedding Photography: Nick in the Wall Photography  Second Shooter: Mary King Photography

-Michelle

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gramma permalink
    March 8, 2012 8:19 AM

    Every time I look at these wonderful HAPPY pictures, I enjoy the wedding all over again.
    LOVE YOU so much.
    Gram

  2. March 8, 2012 4:29 PM

    I don’t know you, but I feel like I know you from your blog. And, these wedding photos? Spectacular! Especially the unplanned pics with the Swedish folks! It’s all over your face! You look beautiful as do your guests, and I’ve enjoyed the bits and pieces you’ve shared since the wedding. But, these photos and your writing … wonderful. I know you better now. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Veronica permalink
    March 10, 2012 2:20 AM

    Your ceremony is truly the best I’ve witnessed thus far, and I don’t believe anything will surpass it anytime soon!!! A perfectly exquisite southern style wedding. I was (and still am) so honored, blessed, and proud to witness this important event in your life. Every time I think about it, I get the smiles. 😀

    Much, much, love for you, dear friend!!!!

    XOXOXOX

    V

Leave a Reply

