Skip to content

these times, they are a changing

July 27, 2012

image found here

Today’s post is a bit different than most.

Often times I have a hard time determining how much of my personal life to share on the blog and how much to hold back. The days that I struggle with that are typically the days that I don’t blog. As you can tell, that’s been a lot lately. I’m not obligated to “tell all” on my blog, but I so appreciate bloggers who don’t hide what’s going on in their lives- It really can be used to encourage others who may be going through the same thing. 

Things in the my life and Cole’s are changing and I truly believe it’s for the best.

Actually, I know it is.

At the beginning of July I resigned from my marketing job and accepted a teaching position, teaching art at a local Christian school. (Some of you may know I studied art education, but was offered an amazing opportunity in marketing after my student teaching.) My time as a Marketing Assistant was a wonderful learning experience, I learned so much more than I would have if I had studied marketing, and I also got to do graphic design, which was a huge plus. The job as an art teacher almost fell in my lap but I felt total peace in accepting it.  The Lord was good and truly provided the perfect next place for me to work. (Did I mention yet, that I’m SO excited too!) Over the month of July I’ve had some time off to rest, disconnect… and also prepare for the school year ahead.

It’s been the first real break I’ve had from work or school in several years and I have loved every second of it. Because of this time off we were able to do some traveling, first we went to visit the in-laws over 4th of July, then I was able to visit my grandparents in my hometown and care for my grandfather while my grandmother was away. I’ve also had some time to just enjoy being a wife and being at home. (I started working the morning of my college graduation, so I felt like I haven’t had a moment just to enjoy being home.) The Lord has also strengthened my relationship with Him and with others and even brought new precious girlfriends into my life.

I’m really blessed by all this change. It’s allowed me time to disconnect to reconnect. I feel like this month off has been a gift, one that’s wrapped beautifully with a big bow on top. It’s a gift no one could have given to me but the Lord, in his perfect timing. Thank you Lord!

So that’s what’s been going on during all this silence. It’s be a sweet time (and I still have one week left!!).  The Lord has been so faithful to Cole and I and we look forward to following Him into the next season of adventure.

Michelle

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    July 27, 2012 11:51 AM

    Michelle, Praying blessings on you as you begin this next season, may your cup overflow! 🙂

  2. Veronica permalink
    July 27, 2012 1:50 PM

    I understand the need to “disconnect to reconnect” more than you know! It’s been a part of my struggle with this summer. I am so glad (pretty much beyond words) that you’ve had this time to relax, grow, and enjoy. “May the Lord reward your work, and your wages by full from the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to seek refuge” (Ruth 2:12). Sooooooooo excited for you as you begin this new adventure! 🙂

    Much love,
    V

  3. Gramma permalink
    July 27, 2012 7:22 PM

    I’m SO GLAD you shared!!! We’re excited about the new ‘career’ opportunity and all that you’ve learned as you worked in the ‘real world.’ The Lord is blessing and you know what’s so great about it all, YOU recognize it. I hope you recognize, too, how much Poppa and I love you.
    XOXOXOXOXOXOX

    Gram

  4. Constance permalink
    July 30, 2012 9:02 AM

    It’s a really good thing.

Leave a Reply

