Skip to content

Rainy Day Menu: Lentil Soup

August 26, 2012

We’ve gotten plenty of rain (and more) the last few days here in South Florida (complements of Tropical Storm Isaac). I can’t say I really mind though. Not because I’m a fan of the destruction a Tropical Storm or Hurricane brings, but I truly love the quality time I get to spend with my family and friends.  Yesterday I made my favorite lentil soup and spent the afternoon playing Scrabble with CH, my baby sis and some of our closest friends.

I’ve been meaning to share this recipe for some time now- being that it is my favorite soup and all, but I guess it took Isaac to talk me into it. 20120826-220738.jpg

Lentil Soup

(recipe adapted from food.com)

Ingredients: 1 large carrot, 2 stalks celery, 1 large onion, 2 garlic cloves,1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 lb  Italian sausage, 8 cups chicken broth, 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes, 2 cups dried lentils (make sure you rinse and strain them first!), 1 teaspoon salt, 3/4 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional), 1/2 teaspoon oregano, 1/2 teaspoon thyme, 1/2 teaspoon fennel seed (optional, it’s hard to find and kinda pricy), 1 bay leaf

(PS: I’ve been making this soup organic lately, almost all the items can be found organic at Whole Foods or The Fresh Market. Oh, and the soup freezes great too! I separate it into single servings and freeze it for lunches for CH and I.)

Directions: Dice the first four ingredients and sauté them in a large pot with the oil. Sauté until tender. In a separate pan cook the Italian sausage, removed from the casing. Brown then drain off fat. In the pot will the veggies pour 8 cups of chicken broth.  Add tomatoes, sausage and lentils.  Add remaining ingredients.  Simmer until the lentils are tender, 30-45 minutes.  Remove 1/3 of the soup and puree with blender and then return it to the pot.( I just stick and immersion blender down into the soup and give it a few pulses) Cook for another 10-15 minutes allowing the soup to thicken. Remove bay leaf and enjoy!

-Michelle

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gramma permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:34 PM

    I wanna’ eat it when YOU make it. You are indeed my favorite oldest grand baby girl. I, too, love the peace that a good rainy day brings…..fire, a good book….and family.
    LOVE YOU more than all the rainy days we know about.
    XXOXOXOXO
    Gram

Leave a Reply

