Skip to content

making the cut

November 15, 2012

Next week I’m getting my hair cut. I cannot wait.

can.

not.

wait.

I’m rather over my current hairstyle and maybe that’s why my hair is typically worn in a messy bun. You see, I have trust issues with hairstylists (and hairstyles too).  Because I can’t seem to trust, my hair too often stays long, straight and BORING.

For those of you who have only ever seen the bun, here’s a picture of my hair down. (This is one of maybe 5 occasions I’ve done my hair in the last few months. Sad but true.)

image by the lovely Shea Christine.

So after much thought, and a bit of research I determined what type of drastic change I’d like to make.

I’d like a pixie.

It’s not a joke, I genuinely want my hair cut like Blair, of Wild and Precious. I’ve thought about it a lot and I’m very willing to take the plunge.

image by Blair (make sure to check out her blog here)

BUT  I don’t think I have the face shape for it.

AND I’m not sure my husband loves the idea

So for now, the pixie is being put on hold.

 I’m going to go for something more like Kirsten Dunst.

image found here

My hair is naturally wavy, so this should be pretty foolproof.  And when I’m ready to go for the pixie, I’ll already be halfway there.

-Michelle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2012 2:12 PM

    You have a beautiful face, Miss Michelle, and a good stylist could give you a pixie style cut that flatters your face shape. The key is “good stylist!” Like you, I had long hair for a long, long time. Then, when in my late 30s, I got fed up with it. My husband laid on it in bed, I always had to “do something” with it … french braids, ponytails, BUNS! The only time it looked good loose was when it was freshly washed and dried. And, THAT was a lot of work! Shampoo, conditioner, blow dry! Whew! I have incredibly straight and fine hair, so there weren’t many options. Then, when my daughter was born, I found I had even less time to keep up with the hair, so I got a pixie cut. Never regretted it, either! Now I am older, and it turns out that this kind of a cut “ages well.” Long hair on older women tends to weigh the face down. So, even if you don’t get the pixie cut now, the day will surely arrive when it’s perfect for you. And, like I said, you have a beautiful face and I’m certain you would look wonderful with a pixie haircut. {P.S. A lot of men find short hair sexy! I didn’t know that until AFTER I cut mine. Who knew??? :o) }

  2. Veronica permalink
    November 18, 2012 2:33 PM

    So . . . I read “pixie,” but thought “bob” like Katie Holmes’ short bob with bangs (http://www.findabeautysalon.com/articles/best-celebrity-bob-haircuts-of-all-time/978 -even Charlize Theron’s bob is cute too). Then I scrolled down further and was like “whooooooaaa!” 😀 I agree with Constance, you could definitely pull off a pixie, but you have to be sure to find a stylist who sees faces well and is willing to go for it too. For example, I’m not sure if I’d trust the stylist I have now to give me a pixie- I kind feel like she plays it a little safe, and I’m not sure that’s a kind of style she’s comfortable with doing. Some stylists prefer cutting certain styles over others. Anyhoo, with your personality, you could definitely do the pixie, the short bob, or a longer bob like Kirsten Dunst; you’ll look beautiful either way. I’ve grown kind of tired with my longer style too, so I’ve been thinking about going shorter. But then I think about the fact that I can’t style it all the different ways that I do now if it’s shorter. Then I think about how much time it takes to style when it’s long. It’s quite the see-saw to be on. 😉 The good new is that if we cut our hair short, it’ll grow back, right? (I know it’s strange, but I think I have this fear that if I cut my hair short, it won’t grow back!) I do insist that you post a picture of your new style! I’d love to see how it turns out!!!

    Much love,
    V

Leave a Reply

